Mpower BootyChallenge 30 day Follow-up !

We have now followed through the 30 day BootyChallenge created by Else Lautala (http://www.elsefitness.com/) and Eveliina Tistelgren (http://www.eevsku.fi/) for Sportyfeel (sportyfeel.com/challenge). Mpower BootyChallenge lasts not just for 30 days but for 42 days, that is 6 weeks in total. Mia and Minna have done the exercises measuring the muscle activation of the Glutes Max with Mpower Muscle Activation Monitor during each workout. As a comparison Isabella has not used Mpower in her training.

BootyChallenge introduces a new exercise each day during the 30 days. Based on the measurement results Mia and Minna have selected the most effective ones which they will use during the remaining 12 days. Isabella has selected her exercises based on her own feeling.

We will tell you here our personal feeling and the results of the BootyChallenge thus far:

Mia:

I have enjoyed the Sportyfeel booty challenge a lot! In my opinion, the program is good since it is so versatile and every day is different. I also was inspired by the idea that there were a new routine for every day and I have a chance to learn something new. For me it was great that the workouts of the challenge did not took much time nor burden me TOO much so that my muscles stayed capable for my other exercises of the day such as for baseball game, running practices etc. For that reason I did not quit the challenge or even thought about it because I felt it supported my other activities. However, every time I did the workouts my muscles got sore and tired during the training so I knew that the effect of the routine reaches its destination and activated my muscles.

Including the Mpower to the challenge, also gave confidence for me about my training since I was able to follow activation levels of my muscles, and my progress with the routines in set and workout level. Application encouraged me to finish my sets and moves all the way to the end, and motivated me to compete with myself. For me it was also one way to commit me to the challenge since you cannot fool the application and get the results for the day if you REALLY haven’t done the workout for the day.

So what kind of change I have been able to identify? I think, my buttocks and thighs are more solidified. My posture and elasticity are slightly improved as well as my velocity during the challenge which is realized from my actions in baseball field as better movement in outside field and faster movement between the bases. In addition, my mobility has gotten better, because of the versatile program and since some of the routines have been a very challenging for me. I have mostly liked all of the jump-routines, because they horrified and challenged me in the beginning, but I have been able to beat them! With them the progress is very visible for me. In addition, these routines have brought me the greatest activation, and after all, they are very challenging routines for all.

For last days I have picked the routines which had yielded me the greatest activation, or who were challenging for myself, and/or I have really enjoyed them and they got into my muscles.

Best activation in average:

Hip thrust to the side (D18)
Skater jump (D27)
Apple butt (D28)
Plie Jump (D20)
Frog Jump (D22)
Bunny jump (D2)
Flea jump (D30)
Butt lift (D10)

Other good routines eg for lateral muscles:

Squat with leg abduction (D25)
Lunge and leg raise (D23)
Walking wide deep squat (D11)
Skater kick (D6)
Butt raise (D5)
Pulley squats (D16)

For the last days I selected the routines which average activation level was greater than my personal activation level for all the routines in average:

Bunny jump (D2)
Hip thrust to the side (D18)
Plie Jump (D20)
Frog Jump (D22)
Skater jump (D27)
Apple butt (D28)
Flea jump (both sides, D30)

Hopefully during these last weeks I will still get more strength to my feet, and the trend of my development is still upward, especially now when I use all the routines that produced most activation for me.

Minna:

I’m so happy I started this Bootychallenge! I wasn’t’ sure what to expect. I have only once before followed a certain fitness program this literally. For me the first 2-3 weeks were tough. I had just recoved from a bad flu during which all my exercising was on hold for 2-3 weeks. I think despite that the fact that the same muscle group was trained every day was quite tough on me. I noticed that in the beginning also my glutes were not in good shape so I was doing more on my quads (thighs) and they got really sore. Later in the program I found enjoyment and fun again from the exercising and was able to start running and cycling again.

For me doing the Bootychallenge with Mpower has provided extra motivation. I like to follow each set activation and if I notice my activation levels going down I push more on the last set and try to do the exercise more carefully regarding the technique. It has been interesting to compare the effectiveness of different exercises. We have only measured the muscle activation from the glutes max, both left and right, but not the glutes med. Glutes med and also glutes minimus are activated in the exercises which mimic their natural work in our bodies ie rotation of the leg sideways. The beauty of this 30 day Bootychallenge created by Else Lautala and Eveliina Tistelberg for Sportyfeel is that most of the exercises activate all three muscles of glutes. The exercises are so called compound exercises eg squat with leg abduction. There are only few exercises that don’t activate glutes max.

So far the first 30 days have been quite effective: my glutes and also my thighs have gotten slimmer and firmer – even my husband noticed this 😉 – I don’t think my glutes are getting any specific shape. To be able to build shape into one’s booty you need to activate the fast twitch muscle fibers and I have not been successful with that. These exercises are done with your body’s own weight with lots of repetitions which is really good for basic activation. In order to get the fast muscle fibers activated I would need to add weights to the exercises. However I have noticed that my other training results have gotten better. As said I haven’t done much cycling, actually only 5 times during this summer and 2 times during the Bootychallenge program. Still I found that my riding was easier and faster last time, I got also the hills up faster. Every sport has its set of primary muscles responsible for the majority of the work for that sport specific motion and they also power up when more speed and strength are needed. For cycling the power phase happens while the hip and knee extends, pressing downward on the pedal. This action starts with a combination of the gluteus and quadriceps muscles followed up by hamstrings and calves.

Following exercises have been most effective for me, both for my fast muscle fibers and my total activation levels:

Bunny jump (D2)
Butt raise (D5)
Skater kick (D6)
Fire hydrant (D8)
Butt lift (D10)
Single leg butt raise (D12)
Cassack squat (D13)
Hip thrust to the side (D18)
Plie jump (D20)
Frog jump (D22)
Lunge and leg raise (D23)
Apple butt (D28)

I wont add Cassack squat to the coming program as that was really bad for my knees. I will also add few exercises to my routine which will affect more on the Glutes Med and Min but which I wont be able to measure now:

Pulley squats (D16)
Squat with leg abduction (D25)
Ninja walk (D26)

What I look forward during the rest of the program is better activation now that I have selected the exercises based on the ones which gives most activation. I assume that this will result to little bit of muscle soreness but also expect to see even firmer and stronger glutes at the end!

Isabella:

Doing the booty challenge has been a lot of fun. Usually my workouts focus on either doing weights at the gym or cardio in the form of various fitness classes. The booty challenge has taught me various new cardio-based exercises that I can use for my own workouts at the gym when I don’t feel like doing weights. Loving it! And also having good exercise routines that I can do at home is super handy. The past month has been a rollercoaster for me. Moving to Australia for my internship two weeks ago has made it difficult to maintain the booty challenge routine at times due to the amount of travelling, jet lag and settling in that’s been happening. So I have to admit that I’ve missed a few days of booty building, which is a shame, but I’m proud of how much I’ve still managed to stick to the program. Having the program has definitely been a nice way to bring a routine to the new home in Australia. It’s been motivating me to go to the gym after work on days when I probably wouldn’t have gone if I didn’t have the challenge to push me to go.

I’ve been doing the booty challenge without using Mpower so that we can point out any differences between actual data about effectiveness of the exercises and the sort of ‘feel factor’. I’ve definitely been feeling the challenge, and love how sore it gets the booty! Thinking in terms of the results, I wouldn’t say a 30 day challenge should be thought of as a quick fix to getting that perfect toned body. For me it has more been to push myself to go to the gym and get the routines rolling. I feel like the challenge has made me more energetic and helped me feel better about myself. It has helped me to get my cardio done when there are no fitness classes at my new gym. So overall, it’s been very helpful and definitely a good motivator for a healthier life even when living abroad.

Here are the exercises I found the most effective based on the ‘feel-factor’:

Bunny Jump (D2)
Single leg squat (D9)
Single leg butt raise (D12)
Walking lunge (D15)
Pulley squats (D16)
Frog jump (D22)
Apple butt (D28)
Squat with leg abduction (D25)
Skater jump (D27)

We will give you a final follow-up after the 6 week program and tell you more of the feelings and results of the BootyChallenge!

Follow us on Instagram (@mpower.bestrong) and Facebook (Mpower Goes BootyChallenge)

 

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s